1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

how to pattern a new gun

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by bob radasch, Dec 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bob radasch

bob radasch Guest

Long story short- I need advice on how to effectively pattern a new gun to see what is going on. I have been shooting trap for past 6 months using a browning side-by side field with improved modified choke - was doing OK- getting 20-22 birds on average.

So I decided to get fancy and buy a "true Trap gun" now I cant hit anything. I cant tell if Im shooting high, low or off to the side. My new gun is a Browning XT trap with adjustable comb. Im using a modified choke and have the comb all the way down. When I do hit a bird I just chip it with a BB or two- not powdering them like I was with the field gun. So I have decided I need to go back to square one to see where Im shooting with this new gun, before I start messing around with the comb. The new gun has a lot higher rib than my field gun. My questions are:
    1) how large of a paper target should I make
    2) how far back from the paper target should I be to look at the pattern so I can decide how to adjust my sighting
    3) should this be done with a full choke, improved modified???
    4) any other advice to help out. I relize I may have to start adjusting the comb if im shooting way high. Am I correct that be raising the comb my I will have to start shooting "under" the bird as I have raised my POI. Not terribly familiar with the POA and POI stuff. If it gets really complicated I will need to get someone who really knows there stuff to help with the adjustment.