1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

How to modify 303 stock to fit

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by cleboje, Jul 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cleboje

cleboje Member

I need some advice on how to go about reworking the comb on my 303 to fit me.

I am a right eyed, right handed shooter, 5'10 inches, 215 lbs. with a round face.

With the stock spacer set to give me the proper drop at comb, I am still looking slightly off to the left of the rib with the mid-bead a little lower and off to the left of the front bead.

I think I need to rework the comb of the stock to give me more cast off, but as I have never done this type of work before, I could certainly use some advice from those who have done this...what tools do I need to rework the comb to fit my face?

How did you go about doing a job like this?

Thanks for all the help.

Joe

2. alfermann66

alfermann66 Member

Firstly Joe, your description is a physical impossibility. With the gun in the mounted position, one can't be looking off to the left of the rib with the mid-bead left of the front bead. But to move the comb...go to your local hardware store and buy some shim stock (brass preferably). Loosen the tang nut that holds your butt-stock on and place a few thousandths shim stock between the stock and stock spacer on the opposite side of the desired direction of comb movement. Tighten the tang nut and check the result. Continue until you have the desired result. It's a lot easier to do and doesn't butcher a good stock.

Buz

3. berettaman7

berettaman7 TS Member

cleboje

I am a left eye dominant right handed shooter, 5'10 inches, and 245 lbs. with a really round face.