1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

How to know what trigger to use??

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by gasman03, Jun 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gasman03

gasman03 Member

I have been shooting for about 3 years with a BT-99 pull trigger. I shot a release trigger last night at the club and it felt good. How do you know if you should switch?

Corey

2. dverna

dverna Active Member

If you are not flinching, stay with the pull trigger.

Don Verna

3. Border Bandit

Border Bandit Well-Known Member

My understanding of it is this:

Release triggers are like hip replacements, when you need one, you'll know it.

It's not something you do just for the hell of it, and besides, it's the first step toward completion of your quest to shoot the trap house......bust 'em all.....mike

4. Trap2

Trap2 Well-Known Member

Corey.... I don't agree with either post above. I switched to a release trigger 7 years ago just for the reason you mentioned: It just felt better to do. I didn't have a flinch, nor any recoil related problems, I just liked it better. Been with it ever since and see no reason to go back to a pull... Just my experience... Dan Thome (Trap2)

5. KEYBEAR

KEYBEAR Active Member

Jerry You did have a Flinch (a bad one) . We did,t tell you because we were not sure how you would take it . (That and it was funny as hell )

6. BigM-Perazzi

BigM-Perazzi Well-Known Member

I have to agree with Trap2 and FlaLagarto. release because it just felt better...

7. phirel

phirel TS Member

I switched to a release only because I had to make the change. But, it it makes your finger feel better and you want to change, do it. There are some fine gunsmiths who would like the work.

Pat Ireland

8. Savage99Stan

Savage99Stan Active Member