1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

How much to shoot

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by headhunter, Mar 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. headhunter

headhunter Well-Known Member

Hi guys. I'm a newbie on the forum but have been reading the forum for a little while. I started shooting clays a little over a year ago and am really having a blast. I try to get out once a week to shoot and am always looking forward to my next opportunity to go. My question to all is- How much and how often do you go shoot to become a good shooter... Can you over do it?... Or is it the more you shoot the better you get? Just wondering about how to approach this great hobby and get better. Thanks for any input.
    Bob

2. JBrooks

JBrooks TS Member

Are you talking about trap or sporting clays?

3. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

Learn how to shoot clays the right way, find the right gun, and the right ammo. Do those three things and the more you shoot, the better you will get. HMB

4. gun fitter

gun fitter TS Member

Lessons are a great help and will save money on practice in the long run.

Joe

5. RLC323

RLC323 Member

If you want to get good, make sure you practice with a goal in mind. Get the fundamentals right first. Your gun must fit and shoot where you look. Work on your stance, hold points for all the posts. Know where to look for the target on each post. Practice with a purpose and shoot as much as you can. Work on improving your technique, and note your mistakes so you can take steps to not make them again.