1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

How much scope for a 375 H&H

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by 7remmag, Oct 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 7remmag

7remmag Member

I just purchased a 375 H&H as a birthday present for myself and I want to put a nice scope on it. I asked around my local gun club and gun shop and have gotten mixed signals. A few people tell me to go with a 1.5-5X, some say 2-7X, still others have told me that I have a 1,000 yard gun and should get something like a 4.5-14X. This will be my first gun in this cartridge so I have no experience hunting with it so I would like to draw on the experience of others. I plan on using it on black bear for the most part in Northern New York State and possibly on some boar. I someday hope to take it to Africa, but that is a long way off. Any input will be greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Kyle

2. eric

eric TS Supporters TS Supporters

First off, the 375 H&H is not a 1000 yard gun. The effective range is whatever you are capable of shooting accurately.

I am just finishing up a custom 375 and elected to go with a Leupold European 1.25-4 power with Talley quick release lever rings. It has 30mm tube and like all Leupolds, is a good value for the money. Is there better, more expensive glass out there - absolutely. You need to be realistic on how it will be used and buy a scope accordingly.

Welcome to an excellent big bore adventure rifle.

Eric

3. mag410

mag410 Active Member