1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

How long can you store clays powder?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by jliveng1, Mar 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jliveng1

jliveng1 TS Member

How long can you store Clays powder before it goes bad? I've been storing an 8 lb container in my Phoenix garage since 2005. The seal on the container was removed but it's been stored with the lid tightly closed. Is there a way to tell if the powder is bad before loading up a bunch of shells?

What about primers, do they have a shelf life?

Thanks Jason

2. Avaldes

Avaldes Well-Known Member

I would think the dry climate in Phoenix would be very good for the shelf life of reloading components.

3. Stl Flyn

Stl Flyn Well-Known Member

If I remember correctly it states to store in a cool dry place. I do not know what the heat would do to it, if it is not excessive. Primers should be fine I would think.

4. cubancigar2000

cubancigar2000 Well-Known Member

I lived in Indana, South Dakota, Colorado, Arizona, oregon, washington and now Idaho. Some of those climates are humid, some dry and hot. I have lots of Powder that is 30+ years old and has moved with me and it still shoots like it was freshly made

5. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

Forever and a day if keep cool and dry. How hot does it get in that garage. If it goes bad it will smell like ammonia. HMB

6. jliveng1

jliveng1 TS Member

The temperature in inside of a garage can reach 120 degrees on a regular basis during the Phoenix summers. Does that fall with-in the "cool" range?

7. Rebel Sympathy

Rebel Sympathy Well-Known Member

I've got some over 20 years old. Most of those years it was in Florida - but it was stored on a top shelf of a closet inside an a/c house.

Mike

8. wolfram