1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

HOW DOES SPARTA COMPARE TO VANDALIA?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by senior smoke, Jan 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. senior smoke

senior smoke Well-Known Member

HELLO:
    some of the best times i ever had trapshooting was at the grand in vandalia ohio. the first time i went i could not believe i was shooting where some of the greatest shooters in the world once shot. i started shooting in 1972 and subscribed to the american shotgunner magazine. at that time meeting some of the all american shooters was something on par of meeting professional baseball players when i was a kid. there was history at vandalia. i have not been to sparta since it opened. i talk to shooters who have gone and i never hear one of them say that they really liked it. most say it does not seem like the grand american that they once knew. do you feel moving to sparta has been a success? i hear it is a great facility, but what is it missing? in know way is this thread meant to criticize the ata. i feel under the circumstances they did a great job. if you have shot at both Sparta and Vandalia, can you compare both facilities. does sparta feel like the grand american? do you feel in time, that it will surpass vandalia?
    steve balistreri

2. bigdogtx

bigdogtx Well-Known Member

Whether it "feels" like the grand or not,,,,it is now!!!!

3. Joe Woods

Joe Woods Well-Known Member

There is no more Vandalia.And there never will be another just like it!!!!
    Attended the Grand since 1975.
    I felt that when Christie's Restaurant next to Fulmer's Groc. Store,Vandalia,Ohio closed we were in serious trouble.Things do not remain the same.