1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

How did you get sucked into shooting trap?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Barrelbulge(Fl), Oct 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Barrelbulge(Fl)

Barrelbulge(Fl) TS Supporters TS Supporters

Aug 27, 2007
    West Central Florida
    I was a bullseye and bowling pin shooter before I started shooting shotgun. One night after pin shooting, my nephew and a couple guys that I shot hand gun with, came down fron the trap range and told me they had something new for me to try. I was a little hesitant but gave in after about 10 minutes.

They took me up to the trap range where they proceeded to put a shotgun in my hands. It was a Baretta Mark2. They took me over to position 3 and one of them stood behind me, more or less to coach me. They explained the rules and what was expected of me.Showed me how to hold the gun, even though it didn't fit then called for a bird.

With each shot i got the old behind it, above it and so on. As we progressed through the 25 birds I found myself hitting more and more. The last seven or so birds I had a nice streak and hit them all. I hit 16. I was sold on this game.

The next day I kept thinking about shooting birds, and that evening went out and bought a Browning pigeon grade woth a 34" barrel. The gun fit great. It really swung easy, I figured I could hit them all.