1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

How Competitive are you in Shooting Trap?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by biff, Oct 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. biff

biff Active Member

I'm not asking about your scores, they will improve if you work to improve.

What are you doing to improve your Trap Scores? Are you competitive? Were you competitive in other sports you tried in the past? Do you think your scores will improve if you keep doing what you are presently? Curious Biff

2. Bucko43

Bucko43 Well-Known Member

I think your answer is that you are as competitive as you wish to be. I've seen shooters that shoot occasionally and expect to be good at it and are extremely disappointed when they don't win.

When I started shooting I joined a trap league one month after I started shooting trap. One would say that was a mistake, because out of 35 guys that shot the league (for 6 weeks) I was in last place the entire time. I ended up hitting a total of 107 targets out of 300 shot. I sucked man! My first week score was 7 out of 50 birds shot. My second week score was 9 out of 50 birds shot. I got absolutely sick of the score keeper yelling LOST!

I decided then and there that I was going to learn how to shoot just so I could shut that guy up! So I did everything imaginable to be a better shooter. Changing guns, changing glasses, changing stance, changing hats, changing underwear, etc. Within 12 leagues I was top gun, and convincingly.

The key is - make the change. What's the definition of insanity? Doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.

Kevin

3. Bisi

Bisi TS Member

No, I'm not competive right now. Doubt if I ever will be anymore. I might still have "a day" every once in a while, but i'm not counting on it.