1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

How anal are your reloading habits

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by HHS, Jan 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HHS

HHS TS Member

I've been reloading shot shells for about 25 years and have gotten into some habits that some find a bit anal.
    1. All my hulls are sorted in different bins. Gun Clubs with silver base, Gun Club with brass color base, Black Remingtons, New AA reds, Old AA reds, AA gray, STS greens, Remington Nitro golds'. Hulls are inspected as I pull them out of the bin.
    2. I will not mix and match hulls, only load one type of hull at a time, using only one brand of primer. (Fiocchi) If I find a good deal on Rem. or Win. primers they only get loaded into their matching hulls.
    3. All reloads go back into their original boxes.
    4. Use only Down Range wads.
    5. 1oz 8 1/2's only go into AA hulls, 1 1/8 oz #8's into Rem. hulls. Shot has been weighed through each MEC bar when they were new. Have not reweighed anything since.
    6. Each box is newly labeled only if a different primer were used.
    7. Powder is weighed only when I open a new jug.
    8. Only reload 100 at a time, then they are boxed, reloader is cleaned, bottles are refilled and start all over. I can reload about 450/hr with my 9000
    I can't remember the last time I had a squiggle load, they've all gone boom when I've pulled the trigger.
    So, all you reloaders, any other anals out there? Am I missing an important step?

2. nipper

nipper TS Member

well i just began all this but your method matches me to a tee as of now. i think it also will make everything less complicated at the range, to be able to concentrate on the targets and not if a shell is 1 oz. or whatever.

bill

3. JBrooks

JBrooks TS Member