1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

high viz front bead help or hurt?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by smsnyder, May 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. smsnyder

smsnyder Well-Known Member

i wonder if those hi vez fiber optic tube type front beads help or hurt in tracking the target. It seems they would distract your eye from really focusing on target? The reason i ask is i seem to shoot better with a blinder vs a high viz fiber optic tube sight but the high vez front bead stands out better. i tried the fiber optic sight but when i mounted the gun sight i saw two glowing beads.

2. drh08

drh08 TS Member

My guess is it would hurt. When I started shooting my gun I used the beads for mounting and never saw them again after I called for the targets. Interesting enough after reading your post I was trying to remember what color my beads are. Darn if I can remember so I can only conclude I don't use the beads for anything anymore. If you are seeing beads after calling for a bird you are aiming your shot. You can hit targets aiming but not all of them, and aiming is totaly worthless in faster games like skeet, sporting clay and doubles in trap. I would stay away from anything that screams "look at me" on the end of the gun. That is just my thoughts on this subject

3. smsnyder

drh08. i think your right. the metal blinder helps but the hi vez fiber optic tube sight hurts. it distracts your eye from what you are really looking for THE TARGET.

4. TommyTEREX

TommyTEREX Member

I shoot a high viz, I have a cross eye domination problem, I`ve found it helped me immensely, and doesn`t interfear with my concentration on the bird.

Tom R.

5. phirel

phirel TS Member