1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

High Spring Grand Scores

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by minnship8, Feb 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. minnship8

minnship8 Well-Known Member

Attended my first baby Grand at the Dixie last month, and am going to Tucson this coming week for The Spring Grand.

Looked at the historic scores and they seemed very good compared to other big shoots. Then I am watching this weeks scores and they are huge.

For example...

Yesterday had 11 100 straights in singles and you had to shoot a 96 in class C to make the top 10 with only 215 entries. That's 5% of the field running 'em.

In 'caps you had to shoot 96 to make the top 20 with 272 entries. 34% of the field shot 92 or better and 14% shot 95 or higher.

I know I'm a newbie, but I thought the targets at The Dixie were pretty good, although we played in some wind, and the scores were nowhere near what they are posting at Tucson.

Can someone enlighten me as to why we are seeing so many high scores?

Chip

2. ric3677

ric3677 Well-Known Member

Elevation

Rick in MT

3. minnship8

minnship8 Well-Known Member

Rick,

Can you explain to me what effect elevation has that causes these high scores?

Thanks,
    Chip

4. 12ShotTwo

12ShotTwo Member

I shot in the singles event in Tucson yesterday and scored a 91 in B class. The conditions were overcast and 60 degrees, light wind. The shooter next to me shot a 100 straight. This was my first registered shoot and the second time I shot singles, the day before I shot a 92. I met many nice people and will look to shoot the AZ state shoot next month. Joe

5. tracyhunter

tracyhunter Member