1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Hi Power rifle question - ROOKIE

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by XTFreak, Dec 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. XTFreak

XTFreak TS Member

I have no experience with hi-power rifles and know very little about them. If I wanted to purchase just 1 rifle with the most versitility, what should I be looking at? A few people I trust keep pointing me to a 700 BDL in 30-06.

Any other opinions out there? Thanks.

2. wild gun one

wild gun one Member

What do you whant to hunt or shoot with this rifle?

3. porky

porky TS Member

You can't go wrong with the choice of a Rem 700 in a 30 06 caliber, as long as you don't hunt squirrels with it. It covers about all big game here on the North American continent.

4. halfmile

halfmile Well-Known Member

You have to consider a few basics. If you are going to shoot store bought ammo you need to check availability and cost information.

When my Dad started out there were few choices. 30-30, 30-06, maybe 270 which at the time was considered a wildcat. There were also some calibers which are not realpopular today, like 35 Rem, 303 Savage, 30-40 Kraig (WW1 surplus) etc. He never would have heard of stuff like 300 H & H or any of that fancy stuff.

Now there is a head turning array of rounds available, all with their own characteristics, and some of them act like twins with others.

wild gun's question is very pertinent. If you hunt small stuff up to the size of Coues deer a 22-250 is fantastic.

In the antelope, Mule deer, bear, etc category you need a little more thump to get the bigger animal down. Larger game than that requires the ability to throw still heavier bullets. (300/338 Magnums etc)