1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Help with Gaussian Pattern Modeling

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by UncleWray, Mar 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. UncleWray

UncleWray TS Member

I've been out of work for a while in the Great Recession (no politics, please) and I've had more time than money.

To amuse myself without burning powder, I've been working up some Gaussian patterning models in Excel. (I'm an armchair statistician). Used the models for Gaussian beams that lasers spit out. For the 20 or so patterns I've tried, they fit the the Burrard, O&T, and Shotgun Insight data pretty well.

Want to get to the place where I can shoot, say 5 patterns, and use a statistics model to get a reasonable idea of probability of hits as a function of the pellet density in an annulus.

Current project is trying to find the best choke/load combo for the 28 ga. I shoot at trap. (It's my wife's Cynergy, but she lets me borrow it...). Been breaking 22/23 with it, but would like to see if there's a choke combination that would get me another bird. I shoot 3/4 oz in my BT-99 and usually do a bird better on average.

In richer days, I've shot a bunch of patterns using quadrants, patches, etc. and realized the futility. The more you subdivide a random process like shotgun patterns, the longer it takes to make sense of it.

Anybody out there working on some modeling? I'm also interested in processing your patterns to help validate or shoot down my model. let me know.

2. joe kuhn

joe kuhn Furry Lives Matter TS Supporters

Do you know about Dr. Andrew and Shotgun Insight? Check out his website above. He's the guy.

3. EXFDX

EXFDX Member