1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Help with decision on prescription glasses.

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by 548, Apr 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 548

548 Guest

I have been using non-prescription Decots for 15 years. I liked them, but the age induced time has come for prescription shooting glasses.

Can any prescription shooting glasses users offer a little insight what to look for or to avoid? Also recommendations on brand would be appreciated.
    Thank you.

2. puablo

puablo Well-Known Member

Go to an eye doc that is a shooter that understands what you need.

Frank Rively (PA) would be my choice. He knows his stuff and would set you up properly. He's at a lot of the big shoots.

3. Stl Flyn

Stl Flyn Well-Known Member

You might want to look into contacts. The problem with contacts is you can not get the exact prescription like glasses. They come in incremental prescriptions, where glasses can be ground to exact prescriptions.

That being said, if your prescriptions in both eyes can be matched very close with what is available, the Contacts are the way to go. Otherwise you have to pay so much for the different shaded RX lenses. If not, the extra cost may be better.

I had Ranger XL for prescription lenses, before the contacts. They are matched to your pupil separation, and focal point area located in the area that you will look through the glasses. As long as you go through a shooting knowledgeable Optician, they should be able to set you up. You could still use your existing frames.

4. JACK

JACK Well-Known Member Supporting Vendor

Just take the tape off the right lens.

5. zzt

zzt Well-Known Member

548, here is my take on prescription shooting glasses, and corrective lenses in general.