1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

help on 5

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by wiscokid, Aug 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wiscokid

wiscokid TS Member

Hey all. I am fairly new to trap and am have a terrible time with hard rights on station 5 (I am right-handed). Should I be seeing some daylight between the barrel and the bird or swing faster and shoot when I cover it. I would like to learn the best technique to begin with to avoid any bad habits. Also, I am shooting a field grade 870. Thanks, Wisco.

2. lumper

lumper TS Member

By the way you ask about daylight between the barrel and the bird or swinging faster and shooting the bird as the barrel covers the bird your setting yourself up to miss the bird. Get a smidge or so in front of the bird and BLAMMO ... it will be a puff of broken shards.

At least that is what I do.

3. Rollin Oswald

Rollin Oswald Active Member

Wisco;

Lumper offers good advice. You shoot at a point ahead of targets where they will be when the pattern arrives. I would not recommend rushing your swing.

Try to focus on the point where the target will be and not on the target itself. Doing that is a bit of a challenge but it can be mastered with practice.
    Remember, your lead is both slightly above and in front of targets.

You might also try a stance that involves positioning your feet so a line drawn across your toes will be parallel to a line down the center of station 5 from the 16 to the 27 yard line. This stance can be used on all stations.

A common mistake from station 5 is swing the gun with your arms rather than body rotation at the waist and hips. There is a tendency to move the gun away from the cheek, which assures a lost targets resulting from shooting behind them.

Rollin

4. J.Woolsey