1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

HELP! New Shooter needs advice

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by MattSaban, Feb 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MattSaban

MattSaban TS Member

Hi folks,
    Great Forum!

My name is Matt Saban and I live in Northern Illinois. I am relatively new to trap shooting, have been doing it for several months. What a fantastic sport!

I currenty use my hunting shotgun for singles and wobble / doubles. My field gun is a Benelli Vinci 28" with extended Carlson Modified choke for 16 yd and Carlson extended full for handicap. I have had what I consider to be reasonable results averaging 18 -20 currently from the 16 yard line with several 23's. I reload and make every effort to run a minimum of a case of shells a week through the business end.

After several opportunities to shoot "big boy guns (P's and K's etc) I find that the Benelli is very light in comparison and I tend to stop my swing as I trigger. I am interested in a new shotgun, specifically for trap. I do intend to continue with the sport as I have become fully addicted. I would love a P or K gun however finances probablly dont allow unless I find a great deal. Anyone Selling?

I have shouldered Browning Citori XT Trap, and Cynergy Unsingle Combo both fit well. I have also tried Beretta Gold (682 I think??), for me fit was not as comfortable. Have looked at Charles Daley, as well as Remington and several other lower priced guns. My gut feeling based on opinions I have read and folks I speak with is B guns are good value, P's and K's are better.

Any advise? Do I even want and over under or should I lean to combo's? Anyone have anything thats collecting dust they would like to sell?

Thanks in advance!
    Matt Saban
    mjsaban@sbcglobal.net