1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

help identify suitable beginner trap gun

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by stut71, Sep 18, 2013.

1. stut71

stut71 TS Member

Looking to get into casual/club trap. Would like the versatility to be able to shoot doubles and maybe 5 stand sporting clays. Currently using field guns which shoot very flat( Citori white Lightning and old Ithaca mod 37) I have had some experience with a Rem 1100 classic trap and found that gun shot flat and beat my face as well. Thus I am not keen on a Remington. Since cost is an issue I am looking at BPS and Ithaca model 37 trap. Ithaca says the gun can be purchased with either 60/40 or 70/30 point of impact. How about the BPS - can't find any reference on whether they have an elevated POI and what it is. The Ithaca and BPS are in about the same price range so that is not the issue. So I am in a quandary. Thanks in advance, Steve

2. Hank55

Hank55 Member

If I was to only have one gun and wanted to use it in multiple events (singles, handicap & doubles), I believe I would look seriously at a Citori Trap. You can find used ones reasonable on Gun Brokers and even pick up a good used one at a trap club. They are easy to replace springs in if broken and I feel are hard to beat for the price.

3. daddiooo

daddiooo TS Supporters TS Supporters

I'd second that recommendation for a Browning Citori.

Either a Browning Special Trap Edition, or their Special Sporting Clays Edition, or an XT O/U will serve you well for all clay target disciplines.

4. Barry C. Roach

Barry C. Roach Well-Known Member

Get a gun with or install an adjustable comb.

5. ljuticsscentennialpro

ljuticsscentennialpro Member