1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

having trouble with setting release trigger

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by sagepost2, Sep 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sagepost2

sagepost2 Member

I've been shooting a release trigger for about five years.I would mount the gun and set the trigger but lately sometimes when I try to set it I will sort of balk a little and sometimes I will set it and release it right away.I don't
    know if you would call this a flinch or not but it is really frustrating.Any suggestions will be apreciated. I read the other fellows flinching problems but mine is different. Thanks Gary

2. oleolliedawg

oleolliedawg Banned User Banned TS Supporters

You're among many. Ways of beating it include hypnosis, playing music through headphones while shooting or the ultimate fix-setting the trigger with gun open -then closing it!!

3. miketmx

miketmx Well-Known Member

You know that it is important to have your release trigger adjusted properly. I get extremely nervous if my trigger goes off too soon. One time years ago, I experienced your symptoms exactly and was ready to go back to a pull trigger or just quit. I found out that the hammer in my TMX was cracked and was causing problems with pre-mature release. It is also good to have a relatively heavy set weight with a definite audible click. If the trigger ever pulls through it is time for a trip to the trigger smith.

4. Hoosier Daddy

Hoosier Daddy TS Member

I am going on 69 years old. Premature release has not been a problem for me in several years.

5. Bird Grinder

Bird Grinder Member