1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Have you heard of mad cow disease?

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by recurvyarcher, Dec 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. recurvyarcher

recurvyarcher Well-Known Member

Dr. Gajdusek, the 1976 Nobel peace prize winner in medicine, has passed away. His work on spongioform encephalopathy, alzheimers, etc (prion diseases) was brilliant.

When I graduated with a B.S. in biomedical engineering, I had the opportunity to work for either Gajdusek at N.I.H., or go on to grad school. I chose the latter, mainly because when I was interviewed for the lab position with Gajdusek, I felt that he was kind of a jerk toward women, but was really nice to the men. A few months after I declined to join his lab, he was arrested for having sex with his adopted sons.

I find this one of life's puzzling dichotomies. How do you feel about somebody who contributed so much to the scientific and medical fields, but on the human side was really flawed? He was convicted, and left the states after serving his prison term.

Anyway, as a matter of your own interest, you would do well to stay away from touching those deer and squirrel brains if you are a hunter. Check out Gajdusek's amazing work, and you might just want to eat fish and veggies for the rest of your lives.

2. JBrooks

JBrooks TS Member

"and you might just want to eat fish and veggies for the rest of your lives", which would be about a week and a half. LOL

3. BRGII

BRGII TS Member

I love scrambled eggs and brains. It's Honkey soul food. BRGII

4. halfmile

halfmile Well-Known Member

Curvey, my wife is a Food Safety person at a local meat packing company.

Under NO circumstances are any spinal column components to be used, even for pet food or meal.