1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Have New Ponsness Warren

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by paul7177, Aug 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paul7177

paul7177 Member

I have a new Ponsness Warren Patriot. I have been using a Hornady 366 for a few years.

I am having a terrible time getting used to placing the hull and wad at different positions of the handle stroke.

I know it is just a learning curve, but it just seems awkward to me. Has anyone else had this difficulty?

2. Rick Barker

Rick Barker Well-Known Member

Yep, still do. Having 2 Mecs and a RCBS doesn't help either.

I do not know of any other press where separate functions occur on both down stroke and up stroke of the handle.

The only way I can turn out good shells on my PW, is to take my time, look and think about what I am doing.

3. Border Bandit

Border Bandit Well-Known Member

Spring for P/W's excellent motor drive with the hand toggle and the PW machine will become a joy to operate. Think: loading rate of 9 shells per minute at a comfortable pace.

best...mike

4. likes-to-shoot

likes-to-shoot Well-Known Member

I went from a Mec to a Hydro P/W 800+ in just a short time, but I needed to concentrate on what I was doing for that short time. Hang in there, it will be worth the time and effort.

5. mis-some

mis-some TS Member

I bought the shell feeder for my 800. I find this to be a welcome addition and speeds up reloading by 3times. I load approx. 8/10 per minute more if I push it

6. jdsfarms

jdsfarms Well-Known Member

I helped a friend set up his new Patriot and it seemed really slow to me I also have a 366 I'm sure it's faster once you get used to it but 9 shells a minute?Jerry

7. Border Bandit

Border Bandit Well-Known Member