Trapshooters Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Has anyone had experience with S&W 1911 sc??????

3K views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  Shooting Coach 
#1 ·
My wife has been wanting a 1911 45acp and we saw the S&W 1911 e series sc (scandium). I have no knowledge of the use of scandium , for instance "does it rust"? How well does it hold up? She also looked at the Springfield 1911 TRP. I have S&W 1911 Pro Series S&W and have been fond of it. Your suggestions are welcome. I found the TRP to have a very rough grip below the trigger guard, does this "bite" the hand when using ?

Charlie

#4 ·
I got to shoot one for 10 rounds during the Smith&Wesson Days at the local indoor range. It was equipped with a Crimson Trace grip and would put a 230 RN right where that red dot was on every shot. It also seem to have milder (maybe just different) recoil than my MarkIV Series 70. The gun itself may have been tweaked just for the demo, but it was impressive. Intended to buy one, but never seemed to have all of the money needed at one time. Good luck.

#5 ·
The Scandium is much lighter and will result in more recoil...is she up for that? My buddy has a Scandium in 357 that he only shot once with 357's, this is a guy who is an instructor and easily shoots 4K rounds per year and he states it was like a bomb in the hand. My wife shoots around 5-8K rounds per year and I would not consider any lightweight 1911 for her and she is no wimp by any means.

#6 ·
The E series S&W and the TRP from Springfield are two of the very best values in the 1911 market right now. You have to spend a lot more to buy the same quality elsewhere. I own one of each and they are both keepers! No increased recoil with the use of the scandium frame. Those dudes slide like butter!

If you can find one of the bob tailed commander E series pistols, that's the one to get.

ss

#7 ·
"My buddy has a Scandium in 357 that he only shot once with 357's - it was like a bomb in the hand."