1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

HandiCrap?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Frank C, May 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Frank C

Frank C Well-Known Member

My Handicap (26 yds) has suffered this spring, suddenly barely making an 80(chipping my way there)..so yesterday for the hell of it I left in my singles ( IMP Mod Briley) choke and shot them in practice.....ran a 21, not a great score but the 4 misses were severe brain cramps (shooting alone and too fast), the 21 hits were solid.

I started shooting a Briley Full extended this spring, previously used the Optima factory flush full choke. I have not yet patterned the Briley Full.
    With the Briley Full, it seemed I just could NOT get solid hits, played with comb height, hold point, timing etc.
    I realize one practice round is hardly a scientific study.....is it possible or probable that my Briley Full choke shoots way off? Like right or left etc???
    BTW my 16's scores and hits are fine.....
    -Frank

2. Tom Strunk

Tom Strunk Well-Known Member

You have got to check both the point of impact ( against the improved modified ) and the inside dimensions of the choke tube to get your answer. I have heard of Briley chokes marked full, but when checked were actually skeet. Do your homework before spending a lot of money shooting.

Tom Strunk

3. senior smoke

senior smoke Well-Known Member

I DO NOT LIKE CHOKE TUBES!!!! I have found switching differnt tubes is like changing barrels. in the past some guns that i have owned, different choke tubes had different poi, also, i have had a couple tubes incorrectly marked. steve balistreri

4. Frank C

Using a dial Caliper, Briley extended measure IM .706", Full .697"

Beretta flush measure IM .704, Full .693....