1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Handicap: Women @ 19, Men @ 20 - Why?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by JAF1680, Jan 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JAF1680

JAF1680 TS Member

I started shooting trap about a year ago and just started shooting handicap recently. I was just wondering why women start a yard ahead of men. What is the logic behind the one yard difference? Just curious, not complaining.

2. bridgetoofar

bridgetoofar TS Member

Because they shoot like girls.

3. neofight

neofight TS Member

It's the Betty Furness implied law of physical properties as regards the differential proportion of body mass to shot weight.The lighter a shooter, the more perceived recoil that lilliputian shooter would experience, causing a minimal, but measurable reduction in velocity of the shot string, thus placing the miniature person at a distinct disadvantage over her larger and often-times clumsy, rotund opponent.

I could be wrong here.: )

4. Ross

Ross Well-Known Member

Just a small concession to women & jrs. because most of them are smaller, & may not have the upper body strength of men, remember if they (you) shoot well they (you) don't stay there. There are women on the 27 that make me look like a beginner. Ross Puls

5. CalvinMD

CalvinMD Well-Known Member

because our counter-weights are closer to the ground..hence..lower center of gravity

6. Butler

Butler TS Member

I believe the original intention was to get women and juniors to enter the shooting game and the thought that the 1 yard less would encourage them to shoot more handicap targets, correct me if I am wrong......Jim

7. JAF1680

JAF1680 TS Member

neofight: That is a superb explanation. :)