Trapshooters Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

handgun for the little lady

3K views 20 replies 19 participants last post by  WJN 
#1 ·
Some of you may have seen my earlier post about open carry in MI. My wife wants to carry a handgun in the woods when she is out 'shroomin', berry pickin' and such. She is all for getting a cpl, so that is the route we are going. My question is this: What is a good caliber for her? I'm a novice when it comes to handguns. We want some knockdown power without carrying a big piece of iron. any suggestions? thanks Bill

#3 ·
I have an odd suggestion here.

Much less on the pistol, but on the round chambered for...

I'd look into 357 Sig.

With a 125 grain bullet it has the same performance characteristics as 357 Mag (basically built on a 40 S & W casing necked down to a 9 mm bullet). VERY mild recoil for what it is. Great accuracy too.

The round is a bit expensive to shoot all the time, but the performance pay back is amazing. I think it would handle anything (or anyone) she might run into in the woods.

Sig started it, but it can be had in Glock (a good, light choice) and a host of others...

#6 ·
I'm a Glock owner and fan myself but for a newbie a Glock is a bad choice. Get her a snub nose revolver in .357 and load it with .38's. Come on guys. It's his wife and he even admits himself he's not real up on handguns. K.I.S.S. Method

#8 ·
Grntitan has it right. If the gun is huge, heavy and has the recoil of a howitzer, she probably won't carry it for long and certainly won't enjoy shooting it. If the primary purpose of the firearm is to afford her peace of mind and reasonable protection, any of the +P rated, Airweight Smith & Wesson snubbies loaded with Speer's Gold Dot Short Barrel Personal Protection 135 grain JHP or Remington's .38 Special +P Remington Golden Saber 125 Grain JHP would serve her well.