1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Gun's POI?????

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by grntitan, Apr 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

Gun

I have been shooting trap now for 5 years and i have a lot of things i still don't understand completely. Can someone give me answers in laymens terms?

(1) what is floating the target

(2) what does 80/20 or 70/30 etc. mean in reference to the guns POI.

(3) why do some guns shoot better at 16yds with a modified or IM and others shoot better with a full or light full?
    (4) how do i pattern my gun correctly and what am i looking for besides where my gun is shooting.
    Like i said i've been shooting trap for 5yrs and i am a low to mid 90's shooter average wise. I shoot a BT100 and ocasionally one of my BT99's depending on which one is helping my average.---Matt

2. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

(1) floating the target is aiming at the target so there is space between the front bead and the target. The target is above the bead.

(2) 80/20 means when you aim at the center of a target 80% of the pattern is above the center of the target and 20% of the pattern is below the center of the target.

(3) You want a gun that fits you. You want a gun that hits where you are looking. You want a gun that has a POI that matches your style of shooting.
    The chokes are not that important if the 3 things above are not right.

(4) You can try shooting staight aways from station 3 and adjust your gun so the hits are centered(ink balls). You can also pattern your gun at 13 yards to make sure it is a straight shooter, not shooting to the left or right. HMB

3. Neil Winston

Neil Winston Well-Known Member