1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

GUNS BLOWING UP & PW RELOADERS

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by mkstephen, Sep 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mkstephen

mkstephen Active Member

I have been using PW reloaders for 30 years. I also have a Caesar Guerini Magnus Combo Trap gun with approximately 20,000 rounds through it. I have been watching the threads on the CG blowing up. All were using reloads and most were supposedly reloaded off of PW reloaders. While it is possible to double charge a shell on a PW most diligent reloaders would be able to discern this when the shot ran out all over the bench.

I have pondered this issue in the back of my mind for quite some time. Here's my main thought;

The PW Company makes a nice brush attachment for station number one that will scrub each reloading chamber when it passes this station, provided that you have the brush installed and not the swab. After a period of time this brush starts looking anemic as bristles have been lost due to usage. Where do these bristles go? Well some come out on the charging station and have to be removed. Some end up in the primer shuttle.

But a large majority of them would have to end up in the shell casing (my guess). The shell next goes to the primer station where the primer is pushed out and a new primer is installed.

What if after enough bristles were gone a clump of bristles could no longer be supported and fell into the shell? What would brass or copper wire filaments add to the ignition process when they are setting on top of the primer?