1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Gunfitting Someone with a Long Neck

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by RichinPeoria, May 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RichinPeoria

RichinPeoria TS Member

Good afternoon everyone,

Im new to trap shooting. I bought my first case of Guns Clubs and Im working my way thru them at Peoria Trap And Skeet.

Im shooting an Ithaca Model 51 Trap gun that was a project gun.
    It's now in very good shape with an Ithaca 30" high rib fixed full barrel and a Monte Carlo parallel comb stock just like it came from the facory.

I have found that I shoot much better when I dont bend my neck down to meet the comb. However when I keep my head up, bring the gun to my face/shoulder and level(hide) the rib, the heal of the stock is about 1 inch below my colar bone.

What are my choices here?

Im also considering buying an 1100 and fiting a high rib barrel (Hastings or Money Maker)and having an adjustable comb fitted?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

2. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

With a long neck it would help to have an adjustable butt plate. That way you can drop the recoil pad down so it fits in the shoulder pocket and you can keep your head up and level. HMB

3. shot410ga

shot410ga Well-Known Member

I have the same problem. Solved with a PFS on my Ljutic, purchased a keen add-on rib, whiched raised my rib to about 1 3/8's ", then made a new high comb to fit the PFS. You can also do this on most trap guns.

4. Dickgshot

Dickgshot Well-Known Member

All American Jimmy Heller doesn't consider that a problem.

5. Rollin Oswald

Rollin Oswald Active Member

Rich;