1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Gun Pattern

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by tomc66, Oct 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tomc66

tomc66 Member

I have been trap shooting for a little over a year. I use a Remington 1100 with a 30" full choke barrel. Today I went to a range and shot from a bench rest at 30 yards. Shot 6 different targets. In all six, the pattern was about 90% below the bulls eye but centered on the eye. Is this normal? I had been using as a reference, a Remington chart, that shows to shoot a little low at straight away targets. With my pattern, it looks like I should be aiming a little high. Is this correct? I have been breaking 17 to 20 birds since I started shooting. Can't seem to get above 20. Also, I don't shoot much. Once a month shooting two rounds.

2. phirel

phirel TS Member

What you described is not normal for a trap gun. If 90% of the shot were above the aiming point, I would not be concerned, but 90% below is not a gun I could shoot.

Pat Ireland

3. jbifulco

jbifulco Member

90% low seems pretty low to me. You will defiantly want to cover the birds, don't shoot a little low.

To get your gun to shoot higher you need to raise your comb height. There are stick on combs or leather lace up ones out there that can raise your point of impact.

Good luck.

Joe

4. highflyer

highflyer TS Member