1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Gun for Mama-San

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by neofight, May 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. neofight

neofight TS Member

I mentioned in my earlier thread that i am new to trap and that my wife is now interested. She's 66, new to guns in every way and fired a few shots at trap this past sunday with a borrowed gun. She's a tad on the smallish side, unlike me with my portly frame and heavy eyebrows. She's about 5-5", 140 pounds, short arms, small wrists, not a whole lot of upper body strength and is a tad on the timid side around things that go boom.

In spite of this, she surprised me this past Sunday by following an instructor out to a trap where she donned a vest, shouldered an 1100 and gave it a go at some birds. It appears that my shooting budget is about to expand, as she wants a gun. So, i did some sleuthing and discovered that there are some models of guns that might work for her, including a Beretta 3901RL which is an auto, has an adj. comb and a short stock that should fit her lilliputian frame.One member here suggested that i consider a BT99, but i am not sure if she would be comfortable opening and closing it, as well as dealing with the recoil. I just don't want her turned off to trap by getting an ill-fitting gun. There are few, if any trap guns to look at around here, save the ones that show up at the trap club.

I am trying to keep the weight down, keep the recoil to a minimum and find a gun that will serve her well and have some resale if and when she hangs it up.I am sure this has been discussed ad-nauseum, but i need all the help i can get. Thank you in advance for your comments, suggestions, warnings and recommendations.

John B.

2. Mike Battista