1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Gun Fit in Southern Oregon

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Ibjamin, Mar 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ibjamin

Ibjamin Member

Greetings All, I am new to trap shooting and this site. I would like get a proper fit for my BT-99, it has a adjustable comb and pad. I know that fit is very important, but do not have a clue on how to proceed. Would a professional fit be best? I live on the southern Oregon coast. Any suggestions?

Randall Nord

2. Ibjamin

Ibjamin Member

Thanks for getting back to John. Tried the gun out before I purchased it and went 6 for 6. Not much of a real test,but good for me. I took your suggestion and mounted the gun with my eyes closed and came with the beads stacked. However the butt hangs up slightly in my armpit. I checked the LOP and it was about 3" from my nose might be to long. I am going out this afternoon to see how it patterns. Its has been suggested I shoot 3 shots at 16 yds from a rest.

Thanks for your help.

Randall

3. Oregunner

Oregunner Well-Known Member

A BT-99 with a 14 1/2" LOP is designed for a man about 5'10" tall and 175#. If you are in that normal range, and your gun has not been modified, you probably just need to shoot it a while, and develope some consistancy in your form and mount, before you start trying to make adjustments to your gun. If you are out of the normal size, or your gun has been modified, then it is time to have at least have an experienced shooter look at you as you mount the gun. Do you shoot at a local gun club that might have someone willing to help? I am at the Roseburg Rod and Gun Club, and we are having a PITA shoot at the end of April. Come over and shoot with us, and we can help you with your gun fit. Mark

4. dead on 4