1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Gun fit/Brusing

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by NShinn, Nov 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NShinn

NShinn TS Member

I am pretty new to the sport--I have a Beretta 686 Onyx 12 gauge that I picked up used at a gun show a couple of years ago (for $900) that I shoot maybe once a month (wife and work allowing).

I find that every time I go out and put a hundred rounds through it I end up with a big bruise on my cheek. I'm generally not sensitive to recoil and don't have any issues with my shoulder after shooting it, but I usually end up looking ridiculous the day after shooting with a big knot on my cheek.

I suspect this may be a gun fit issue, but before I go out and drop $500 on a stock with an adjustable comb or spend the money on a professional fitting (which may be tough to find out here in Northern CA), I thought I would see if anyone here had thoughts on what might be causing the issue and if you thought that a stock with an adjustable comb was a good investment.

Nate

2. Ron Frazier

Ron Frazier TS Member

Rollin.... You're up.
    Nate,
    Rollin can advise you. You may want to think about buying his book. You'll find yourself referring to it over the years. My copy has so many post its sticking out of it that it looks like a porcupine!

3. Rollin Oswald

Rollin Oswald Active Member

Thanks for the referral, Ron. (Don't you wish you had invented post-its?)

Nate:

A number of things can cause "cheek slap", the common name for a bashed cheek.

Adjustable combs are fine and you might need one if, to see along or slightly down-onto the rib, you have to raise your cheek off the comb a little.