1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Gun Club Web Site - What features do you want/use?

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by jcallan, Dec 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jcallan

jcallan TS Member

Folks,

My son and I just joined our local gun club, and I have volunteered to help spruce the web site. I am new to shooting, but I architect/design huge web sites for a living...many you have heard of and possibly visited sites I have worked on...Sears.com the Holiday Heroes at Home, Best Wishes, Gift Finder and Golden Wish Ticket (yep, launched that last month), Northern Trust (Chicago...before that)...Costco.com (yep, had a hand in that one as well). I want to bring that experience to this sport and I am confident you can help.

The first step in creating a web site that brings user delight is one that has features that users want and use. So, in a forum on trap shooting it is only fitting that I ask shooting enthusiasts a few questions about your local gun club web site or web sites of gun clubs that you visit every now and then and that keep you coming back.

1) What features must be in a gun club web site that as a visitor you have to see and as a member you must have?
    2) What features do you most admire and use in a gun club web site?
    3) What features on a gun club web site would cause you to visit it frequently?
    4) What features have you wanted, perhaps not seen anywhere, but believe would be very useful?
    5) How have you searched for and located the interesting shooting related sites that you visit? What terms did you use? What search engines?

In your responses try to give relative importance or priority in what features are most important to you and how you personally use them and why if possible.