1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Gun Advise

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by tomc66, Feb 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tomc66

tomc66 Member

I am relatively new to trap shooting. I shoot once or twice a month. Currently using a Remington Model 1100 with a 30" ribbed,full choke barrel. Is this gun adequate for trap shooting or should I purchase a dedicated trap gun?

2. esoxhunter

esoxhunter Well-Known Member

Tom: As long as you feel comfortable with that gun; it will break all the targets if you point it in the right direction. If at some time in the future, you find that you want to shoot more, then I might try a number of different guns, (dedicated trap guns), and see what you like. Most fellow shooters at your local club will allow you to shoot a round with their gun. Just take your time. Good Luck and welcome to the sport. Ed

3. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

You pretty much have a 'trap gun' right now. Shoot the heck out of it and make upgrades as you see the need.

4. superxjeff

superxjeff Active Member

Just get yourself a trap stock and have fun! Your 1100 is more enough gun. down the road yopu may decide to change but for now just get your feet wet. I shoor remington 1100's and winchester Sx-1's and Beretta autos and that is what i choose to shoot. lots of guys shoot autoloaders because they like the lower felt recoil. Recoil is cumlative I believe, it gets us all sooner or later so anything you do early in your trapshooting career to minamize it's affect will only help you later.