1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Grand Target Requirements

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by FormerMarine, Jul 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FormerMarine

FormerMarine Member

Am I reading the Grand program correctly?

It says "1000 Handicap targets in the 2008 target year", there are no last year requirements to be met?

2. Allen-MX8

Allen-MX8 Member

From the program under Clasisfication and Rules and Regulations it reads: "Shooters who do not have a total of 1,000 handicap targets registered with the ATA in the current year will be assigned 25 yards or their current yardage, which ever is greater". (Current year would of course be 2008).

The part I like, as I am a Senior Veteran, is: "Handicap target requirements are waived for Senior Veterans, making them eligible for trophies and monies".

Hope this helps.

Allen-MX8

3. tad houston

tad houston TS Member

This seems to be the root of the hoopla over the change in the start of the ATA year. As I understand the concerns, moving it to November 1st makes it harder for folks to meet these requirements.

I know there were reasons the date was changed and certainly there is room for debate as to whether they are significant enough to require the change but I wonder if, other than the referenced target requirement, does it do ANY other harm? As far as I know, most state shoots set minimums based on current and last target year, IF that is consistent across the board, then it is only the Grand that creates the problem.