1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Good handicap powder

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by kgun_shooter, Dec 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kgun_shooter

kgun_shooter Member

I've been using Winchester Super handicap powder for a couple of years now for my handicap loads and I think it's time for a change. Can anyone recommend a good powder that's not too heavy on recoil and still able to get velocities above 1230 f.p.s.?

Thanks

2. WNCRob

WNCRob Member

Green Dot.

3. missemucho

missemucho Member

Second the motion on Green Dot; lowest felt recoil of any of the handicap powders IMHO.
    John

4. shot410ga

shot410ga Well-Known Member

Green Dot is the only way to go...

5. short shucker

short shucker TS Member

I'll buck the trend here and suggest Hodgdon's Titegroup powder. It is very economical to load (18.0 grains to get a 1235fps load) and is quite soft shooting. The other plus is it isn't temperature sensative like some powder are when it gets cold.

If you like the Nitro 27 Handicap shells from Remington, you'll love Titegroup.

ss

6. timb99

timb99 Well-Known Member

I like Titegroup too. Its really, really close to what Remington uses in their Nitro 27 handicap loads.

But you are fooling yourself if you believe any powder can change the recoil of a shell. If your shell has 1-1/8 of shot and it has a muzzle velocity of 1230 fps, you kind of get what you get with recoil, regardless of what powder you use.

Neil Winston did a double blind test, with several people (both believers and non-believers) on this a short time back, and all things being equal, nobody could tell one powder from another.

Why do you think you need to change powders?

7. dhip

dhip Active Member

GReen Dot

Doug H.

8. Unknown1