1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

GM Overdrive....700R4

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by over the hill, May 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. over the hill

over the hill Active Member

I'm playing around with a 700R4 GM overdrive for a friend that was to alleviate boredom this past winter.

Anyone a Trans. Tech???

In setting up the clutch packs in the input drum, I find a host of specs.

A video says to give the 3-4 clutches about .010 per clutch or about .070 total.
    Gil Younger of Transgo says he likes .015-30 total
    An ATSG book I have says .049-.113.

Since I have no past experiences with Overdrives, what do you like???

Thanks....Regards....Gerald

2. Quack Shot

Quack Shot Active Member

It's been a long time, but I seem to remember about .050", or a bit less, as the total target with new plates.

3. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

Put a B&M shift kit in while you have her apart. It will make it shift more agressively and will actually help it last longer. They aren't too bad to do when you have it out. I've installed several laying on a creeper on the older 350 turbo transmissions. Not fun to do while laying on your back. Its alot easier to keep the little metal balls in place when doing it on a work bench.

The smooth shift that most auto transmissions have now are kind of a controlled slip and puts undo wear on the plates. Just say'n...............

4. Straight99

Straight99 Member

grntitan is right about the GM 700R4. You do not want this trany to slip. Shift kits are the way to go.

5. CalvinMD

CalvinMD Well-Known Member