1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Getting in the groove

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by neofight, Oct 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. neofight

neofight TS Member

I started shooting sometime in April or May of this year. I have really been enjoying hitting the local trap club, meeting a lot of nice people and learning a lot. Somewhere on this site, i recall reading about ignoring the beads, allowing them to fall within the periphery and focusing on the target and nothing else.
    A couple weeks ago, i broke my first 25 on the Continental, followed by another on regular trap at another trap club that i shoot at on Wednesdays.The center bead has always been fuzzy to me at best with my ancient eyes, and i have been struggling to see it while trying to focus on the target.

This Sunday, i chose to ignore the beads altogether, shoulder the damn gun, get my cheek down on the comb, call the bird and shoot the stupid thing. We had a limited number of people show up since it was raining, so we only had three on our squad at the time. We called the birds in rapid succession, fired and called again, getting into a rhythm. I had little time to think about what the hell i was doing and it seemed to really click. It was as though i was on auto-pilot.

Looking back on my first 25 a few weeks ago, it was the same situation on the Continental where i broke my first 25. Three shooters with no time to think, other than fire, eject, re-load, call bird and shoot. We all did better than usual.

I', not sure if there is a question in here or what, just wanted to share what i experienced. Thanks for reading.

2. Ahab

Ahab Well-Known Member

Yup!

Thinking is the Kiss of Death!

3. buck3200

buck3200 Well-Known Member