1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Franchi

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by dhip, Feb 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dhip

dhip Active Member

Anyone have any opinions on this gun.I'm new to Trap shooting,using a Citori Sporting Clays Edition.The fella that got me into this sport,doesn't like them,course he shoots a Silver Sietzs(?spelling)So he may be unintentionally opinionated.
    Franchi comes with 2 barrels,is listed for less than I paid for Citori.
    Just curious,seems most are shooting with barrels longer than my 28".
    Trying not to get the buy,buy buy,syndrome associtated with this sport,but,,I think it's developing.Missed a good deal on a Xtrap,just don't want to miss too many more deals.

Dog H.

2. Chango2

Chango2 Active Member

I'd recommend that you stick with more popular guns. That sporting clays gun you have is a fine gun and likely work for trap doubles. Be sure to keep it. I'd suggest that your "first" trapgun be something mainstream and not too expensive; a used BT-99 34 inch would be ideal. Now you may find that gun to be a little barrel whippy for you; they are, but your experienced friend can help you modify the balance with a little lead weight, 1-2 oz. on the barrel.

BT-99's: The gun used by youngster to beat this old man, (me) all too often!!

When/if the trap bug really hits you, you may likely move up to a "bettr" gun that you like best of all, e.g. a P-Gun, Guerrini, Ljutic, etc. Or you may love the BT-99, stick with it, and buy a second one for a back up.

3. over the hill

over the hill Active Member

In my opinion I believe you are shooting a better gun than the Franchi.

I bought a new OU Trap when they first appeared in 1976.