1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

FORD TRUCK QUESTION: MAYBE TRON CAN HELP

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by jimbob, Feb 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jimbob

jimbob TS Member

I have a 2003 F150 Super Crew (small V8) that keeps blowing coils. I am no mechanic. I am just repeating what the dealer says.

The service writer said that each spark plug has an individual coil and sometimes they go bad and the truck runs rough. Ok, fine. The truck is doing the exact same thing as the last two times I had it fixed. The dealer said that another coil went bad, not the one they fixed the first time.

At $280 a pop, I can't afford (pun intended) to keep this rig on the road! Is the dealer jacking with me? Thanks.

2. Jerbear

Jerbear TS Member

I may be missing something but a set of spark plugs may cost at most $55.00.

Get a set of aftermarket plugs and be done with it.

Jerbear

3. jimbob

jimbob TS Member

They says it's the coil. Each plug has a separate coil. BTW the truck has 77K miles on it.

4. bigbore613

bigbore613 Active Member

You can get an OBD ( onboard diagnostic ) tester for as little as $50.Pep Boys. Plug it in under the dash and run the Vehicle and read the code, there will be a book and CD with it to tell you what the codes mean. Then fix it yourself.Got one for my Jag, it payed for itself with one coil pack replacement. Jeff

5. kehrby

kehrby Active Member