1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Ford ECO-BOOST V6 ???

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by CW638YORK, Mar 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CW638YORK

CW638YORK Member

Hey guys...

Any input regarding the Ford Eco-boost v6 engines in the current F-150's ??

My 2010 F-150 5.4 V8 was just destroyed in front of my house while was sleeping and now I have the lovely task of replacing it.

I'm looking @ the used 2011-12 F-150's w/6.6 bed just like I had. I have seen some on dealer lots near me with the Eco-boost V6 and was wondering if any of you could provide some personal input from experience?

Thanks for your time,
    Chris

2. Catpower

Catpower Molon Labe TS Supporters

Damn they smacked it good

I have no first hand experience but they have been getting good reviews

3. philk

philk Member

Went with the 5 liter just because I didn`t think the 6 cyl. would sound good. But that 6 cyl. puts up slightly better numbers, no denying that. Wish they had a twin turbo ecoboost 5 liter that would really be cool.

4. Grade VI

Grade VI Member

I have a 2012 Ford F 150 with the Ecoboost engine. It has plenty of power and pretty good gas mileage for a full size 4 wheel drive vehicle. My gas mileage is about 19mpg around town and on short trips. On longer trips or highway, I get about 23 to 24mpg. Biggest draw back is the size of the fuel tank. It has a 36 gal. tank so it costs pretty close to $100 to fill it up.

5. Didreckson

Didreckson Active Member

I have two Eco boost vehicles...one in a Flex my wife drives, one in a Taurus SHO that is my driver.