1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Flood Insurance

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by Jerseyshooter, Apr 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jerseyshooter

Jerseyshooter TS Member

Hi folks...thought I would relay some information and suggest some actions you might wish to consider. 3 weeks ago we were inundated by a 500 year flood in Cranston Rhode Island (my wife and kids live there while I work in NJ). Basement filled to the ceiling (found can of crisco lodged in basement ceiling rafters) and waist high in the 1st floor. We basically lost everything. Luckily I work as a commercial property underwriter, knew the system pretty well, and had purchased NFIP (Federal Flood Insurance). My neighbors for the most part did not. Some important info:

1. You have to go through your agent to purchase this....NOTHING is covered by your regular homeowners for flood.

2. You have to purchase contents and building coverage separately. If your mortgage company makes you purchase NFIP, it does NOT cover your contents unless you add it separately.

3. Basements are bad news. It will only cover HVAC, washer and dryer in the basement. Finished basement improvements and contents are not covered. Don't put stuff down there that is worth $$$$

4. This is not FEMA! FEMA will pay for some things if you don't have insurance but it will not come close to making you whole.

This will end up being an $80,000 loss....flood insurance will cover about $65,000 to 70 grand. Personal property is covered on an Actual Cash (depreciated) basis as are appliances and such, so you can never quite get a true replacement.

My neighbors were going absolutley nuts either thinking their homeowners covered their loss or FEMA would pick up the full tab. Lots of screaming, crying and cursing.