1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Fixed chokes for trap

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by jfesi, May 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jfesi

jfesi Member

I'm new to trap shooting and debating a different gun purchase. Can anyone tell me if there is a dissadvantage to owning an O/U with full and improved modified chokes over a gun with screw in chokes for shooting trap?

Thanks,

Joe

2. cubancigar2000

cubancigar2000 Well-Known Member

Opinions will vary. Mine is that I prefer tubes

3. Unknown1

Unknown1 Well-Known Member

There's no disadvantage I can see. With IM and Full you've got the two best chokes for everything from 16 yard to 27.

MK

4. Quack Shot

Quack Shot Active Member

The disadvantage is you have one less thing to play with and one more to blame the misses on.

5. Leo

Leo Well-Known Member

I have screw in chokes. Unless I am shooting sporting clays, the only ones I use are full and improved modified. I find if I worry less about chokes and more about where I line the gun up before I pull the trigger, I break more targets. If you have a good deal going on a fixed choke trap gun that fits you, don't worry about the extras.

6. jdsfarms

jdsfarms Well-Known Member

No disadvantage and it will help your mental game because you won't be wondering if you should change them.Jerry

7. Basfshmn

Basfshmn Member

If you was going to shoot just trap fixed chokes would be fine. I have a two barrel set of fixed chokes IM and Full that I use and love em. The only disadvantage would be is if you was going to shoot another sport sometime down the road. ( Skeet,sporting clays,ect.) It might be a advantage, it would give you another good reason to purchase a choke tube gun down the road.

8. Savage99Stan

Savage99Stan Active Member