1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

First Trap Gun

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by greenhorn, May 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. greenhorn

greenhorn Member

As the handle implies, I am pretty new to trap shooting. I am currently shooting a friend's Diamond Grade Trap O/U and want to purchase a gun of my own. I have shot multiple guns (BT99's, Citori's, etc.). I haven't been super impressed with any of them thus far, mainly due to fit issues. I recently passed on a Ljutic that fit well but had a cracked stock(JS recoil reduction) that scared me away; the owner was asking 1500 with the gun in otherwise good condition. I have 1600 to spend, so my question is what to buy. Do I keep shopping, or pick up the Ljutic and hope the stock holds up? ANY suggestions would be appreciated.

2. MNGuns

MNGuns Member

If you shoot it well, why not buy it the save up and send it in over the winter for a tune up and repair ..?

3. Brad*90T

Brad*90T Member

Myself I would be leary of a cracked stock. Keep trying guns until you find the one that works for you. My personal favorite is the Remington 90T, but it is not for everyone. Good Luck and break 'em all.

Brad

4. smokintom

smokintom Well-Known Member

Check out a decent used BT-99 for a first gun.They shoot great.Find one original that hasn`t had the stock cut or been messed with.You can pick one up for around $800 to $1000 in really good shape.And you can get your money back down the road if you ever decide to sell or upgrade.And a BT 100 is awesome.Thats a shooting machine.I love my Citori Combo!!!!! Tom

5. greenhorn

greenhorn Member