1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

First time skeet shooter

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by 7remmag, May 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 7remmag

7remmag Member

So I've been shooting trap for about two years now, but I just picked up an 1100 and decided to get into shooting skeet. I thought it would be kind of like shooting double trap which I do pretty well at, but it is WAY different. I scored a 5/25, which I was pretty pleased with, but it could definitely use some improvement. I have no idea how much to lead the targets on any of the stations, and I will take any advice I can get. Hopefully someone from my gunclub will want to help me out too.

Kyle

2. Salt

Salt Member

6 inches on 1 and 7, 1 1/2 feet on 2 and 6, 3 feet on 3 and 5, 4 ft on 4 and 2 inches on 8. That works for me. Salt

3. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

What choke do you have in your 1100? HMB

4. coling

coling Member

Download and print out the images on the Remington Skeet Shooting Guide.

4' is very difficult to understand at 30' - I think more in terms of barrel width for the lead.

Colin

5. Oregunner

Oregunner Well-Known Member

Todd Bender is the skeet guru. Google is your friend. Shotgunworld has a good skeet subforum. Don't let the trappers give you grief. It's all good. Mark

6. Rufus80

Rufus80 TS Member

The only thing doubles trap and skeet have in common is the use of a shotgun and clay targets. Check your choke, it should be no tighter than an IC. Also the lead on 3,4,and 5 is quite a bit, especially 4. Best advice is to read up on the sport and get someone to help you at your club. Also knowing where to hold the gun before calling for the bird will help, that way it does not get a jump on you.

7. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member