1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

first bird in doubles

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by ColBuckShot, Jan 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ColBuckShot

ColBuckShot TS Member

Whether using 1oz or 1 1/8oz for the first bird in doubles, would it be an advantage to use #9's.
    Perhaps with a fairly open choke such as IC, I seem to be hitting them at about 30yds. Im fairly new to this and would like to improve my changes in addition to more practice, on average about 80% shooter.

2. canada

canada Member

if smoke ever distracts you from shooting the second target, 9's are a good choice.

3. phirel

phirel TS Member

Certainly nothing wrong with #9 shot, but the smaller size shot will not make the pattern larger and the pattern produced by #8 shot is fairly dense at the range the first bird is shot. I do not see any real advantage or disadvantage in using the smaller shot.

canada- If you do enjoy the smoke from the first shot, you are moving to the second bird way too slow. Many good doubles shooters don't even know if they hit the first bird until the scorer says something.

Pat Ireland

4. canada

canada Member

Pat

i see what you're saying, but i disagree. i think you can ask any good doubles shooter, they know very well that the first target was hit, especially if it was smoked. if the first target was chipped however, you're right, you may not know if it was hit.

speaking for myself, and i dont imagine i'm alone, if i turn a target into a great big black smokeball, i can see it in my peripheral vision. the temptation is to look back at it. i dont, but i still find it a distraction wanting to.

i find 9's break them well, hit them hard, but dont seem to leave the big dense smokeballs 8's do.

pat lamont

5. wolfram