1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Firearm pickup in person- Different states

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by skeet_man, Jul 3, 2013.

1. skeet_man

skeet_man Well-Known Member

Possibly running into a situation I've never come across before.

I have a rifle for sale on Armslist. Potential buyer is PA resident (I'm a NY resident), and would like to pick the gun up in person.

Unfortunately this would violate both Federal (since we are not residents of the same state) and NYS law (since NYS law now requires all private transactions to go through a FFL).

Does anyone know if we could both go to my dealer here in NY and do the transfer?

There are no NYS laws that prevent this, but I don't know about PA laws, or Federal laws.

Normally I'd just ship it to his FFL, but if he can pick it up from me, and we can do the transfer legally, it saves me having to box it up and risk damage in transit.

I have to go to my dealer this afternoon anyways, so I can ask him then if I remember. Even if it is legal, finding a dealer willing to go through the hassle may be the bigger pain LOL.

2. 870

870 Well-Known Member

I think it's ok from a federal standpoint as long as it's ok in each state.

3. Shooting Coach

Shooting Coach Well-Known Member

Run the gun through a PA dealer. Get the buyer to set things up and pay the fees.

The dealer can accept the gun from you, and can do the paperwork for a PA resident with minimum drama.

4. frostyman

frostyman Well-Known Member

For Rifles and Shotguns (not handguns) I thought that Federal law allowed you to purchase from neighboring states (any state that connected on to your state).

5. Rebel Sympathy

Rebel Sympathy Well-Known Member

frostyman: