1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Fiocchi 616 primers

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by biggunone, Oct 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. biggunone

biggunone Member

I am changing from rem 209 primers to fi0cchi 616 primers,and 700x powder to promo powder,going into rem gun club hull.Like to know are these fiocchi primers reliable. 1 1/8 1200 fps fio616 promo fig8 19.5 10,600,thats my new load,and also how is this powder [promo].Thanks for any input.

2. gary0920

gary0920 Member

I've gone thru 25,000 of them no problems. Recobs has them in stock at decent prices.

3. esoxhunter

esoxhunter Well-Known Member

I've been shooting Fiocchi primers and Promo powder for the last 3 years. I have no complaints and encourage anyone that wants to save a few $$ on components to try them. My load is STS or Gun Club hulls/Fiocchi primer/18 grains of Promo/Downrange XL wad and 1 - 1/16 oz. of Lawrence magnum shot. I use that load for everything from 16 yd. to Hdcp. (25 yd) to sporting clays. Nice shooting load. Ed

4. dverna

dverna Active Member

The only problem I had with using Fiocchi primers in Gun Clubs is that I could not go back to Winchester primers (primers were a loose fit).

But I have used about 20,000 Fiocchi's without incident in brass base hulls.

You will like Promo. Just buy as much as you can of one lot number as it varies quite a bit. My favorite load (singles and doubles) is 16.5-17 gr. in a AA or STS hull with 1 1/8 of shot and either the Windjammer or AA wad. I stopped getting anal about powder charges and use whatever bushing gets me into the above range.

Don Verna

5. LDAdd

LDAdd TS Member