1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Fiber Optic sights (handgun)

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by starship, Nov 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. starship

starship TS Member

Okay, I know this is a trap forum but the range of knowledge is so great I have to ask.

I'm new to handguns, having recently purchased by first and only (Springfield XD-9). Have been thinking of changing the sights to something that would show up a bit better. Initial look found the tru-glo (tritium), nitesiters and hi-viz. Any recommendations on either of these (or others)??

I know I will have to get a gunsmith install the tru-glo. Not sure about the others yet, just started the research.

Geez, this handgun thing is sure different than the shotgun thing.
    Shotgun -- don't look at the sights, don't look at the sights
    Handgun -- Look at the sights, look at the sights
    Geez, make up your mind... :)

As usual, any and all help apprecaited.
    Chuck

2. wireguy

wireguy TS Member

A little logic. The tritium work well but are expensive. If it's dark enough that you need tritium, can you identify your target? Away from home you can identify it by the fact that it's attacking you and that's all the identification you need. In your home could be a different matter. So you need to determine how and where you are going to carry. As far as i'm conserned a handgun for home protection is foolish. Too easy to miss and not enough power. Away from home it's all you're going to have, and if that includes out after dark tritium would be money well spent.

3. Phil E

Phil E TS Member