1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Federal Reloads

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by woodchuk, Aug 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. woodchuk

woodchuk Member

I just started shooting last year and started reloading my own shells I usally use any kind of hulls.I mostly reload Federal ones have alot of them are they ok to reload or not had a guy last night they are not good to reload.New and looking for advise Thanks Rick

2. j2jake

j2jake Well-Known Member

Not good, too many seperating, do a search here. Jake

3. gdbabin

gdbabin TS Member

I know many, including myself that successfully reload FGM hulls.

There was an issue, but it seems to have passed.

Guy Babin

4. grnberetcj

grnberetcj Active Member

Fed. Gold Medals, Estates, Top Guns and Walmart Fed's all load great and use the same components.

Have at it!

Curt

5. Peasant

Peasant TS Member

Check the hulls before you reload and make sure the base wad hasn't separated and moved up...powder will get behind the base wad if it has and possibly come out and lodge in the barrel... if you don't notice the wad in your barrel...boom a bulged barrel...

6. School Teacher

School Teacher Well-Known Member

I reload about 5000 Federal Gold Medal plastics plus another 2500 STS hulls per year. The Federals are 1 1/8 oz loads and the STS are 1 oz. loads. I have not had a problem with wither hull.

That said, I shoot Remington 870's and 1100 - 11/87's and I do not shoot doubles. I am careful to ensure that I get a full hull for every round that I shoot. This is just simple common sense.